It was my first time to Capetown. The sun coast did not dissapoint, but lived up to all my expectations. It gave all I had imagined and more. I had great company. Young friends with big appetites for adventure. We had satisfied our curiosities and now on our way back to Kenya.

We all sat in a straight row at the boarding gate. We waited for the right time to board the plane. My friends and sat men together and women together. You can bet, we were talking about men.

One of my girls complained about how clingy and I secure her man was. She lamented about how he couldn’t stomach the fact that she was out having a blast with friends. Therefore, she had to lie about it. She was going to tell him a very dull story about her trip. She thought that should calm his nerves. Right. He would be satisfied to know that she had a very uneventful trip to Capetown. What a grouch!

I suddenly lifted up my eyes and our eyes locked. He was a tall man of medium build. About 42years old. His eyes were gentle and warm. He held my gaze for a minute. Then he smiled and dashed towards me. I ran through my memory trying to jog it. Did I know him? Or… did he confuse me for someone else?

In a split second, he was by my side. He took both my hands into his and said my name. “NEREALL!!” I looked up to his face and my memory flooded back immediately! I knew him, I recognized his voice, his gaze… it all came back to me!

Leave a comment