There are these deliciously fatty braai (boerwoers) I had brought with me from my most recent trip to Capetown, South Africa. I brought a few packs so that I could make them the forbidden breakfast at least once before the year came to a wrap.

My househelp was away on vacation. Needless to say, when I had the kids downstairs; I knew it was time for me to make my way to them. The little one had fallen asleep very early the day before. It was about 1700 hrs, when I noticed the house was unusually quiet. He had slept all through night to wake early and hungry.

I tried to rise, but my body sirens were not giving me any green signs. I obeyed. I lazed in bed for an extra hour. “What a bad mother!” I thought to myself. “I miss my kids…” I said out loud. My husband who was supposed to be dead asleep next to me, surmmoned them to our room without notice. Our eldest son couldn’t join us immediately as he was trying to put together breakfast for everyone. He is a big 9 year old boy capable of many things.

At some point, I gathered the stamina to raise up and shine. I started by tidying up the house. While I was at it, we had an early morning guest. So, I handed ove my cleaning to my son and proceeded to

Leave a comment